Bearpacking is a Liebster Blog

Liebster-Blog-Award

I want to say a big thank you to Tonya from Backpacking Kids for nominating Bearpacking as a Liebster Blog! This award, of unknown origin, is given by bloggers to other bloggers with a particular focus on new sites (with less than 200 followers) and is particularly indicative of the positive culture that exists within this sphere. Kind of a ‘pay it forward’ feel.

Tonya’s blog is a great resource for people who like to enjoy the outdoors with their children. I particularly like the post she highlighted on her Liebster Award post – I Walk Slow – great advice for anyone who spends time with kids, be patient and let them walk (or work) at their own pace and they’ll enjoy themselves more. I’d definitely recommend checking this blog out if your circumstances are similar, but it is a wonderful read too even if you don’t have kids.

As part of the Liebster award, Tonya has asked me to answer 11 questions, nominate my favourite new blogs for awards and pose my own set of questions to them. I’ll be nominating my choices for Liebster Blog awards privately so in the meantime here are my responses to Tonya’s set of questions:

What is your dream vacation?

I’d love to take an extended holiday in northern Canada or Finnish lapland. The lure of log cabins, self sufficiency and being surrounded by true wilderness is very appealing. I really enjoyed watching Alone in the Wilderness by Dick Proenneke, seeing him build his own home from raw materials and successfully live there alone with very few non-natural resources is quite inspiring.

Where do you plan to travel in 2013?

I’ve been meaning to get over to Australia to see my good friend Phil for a few years now. Money and circumstances have worked against us but 2013 will be the year that we’re finally reunited. I also have a few, more local trips in the planning stage too.

What is your favorite piece of outdoor gear?

I’m going to say my Camp Kitchen. I’ve made a few changes since my post on it back in September but it sill revolves around a trangia burner, pocket stove and my trusty Snow Peak Trek 900 pot. Other current favourites include my EKA Swede 88 knife, Thrunite T10 torch and my Patagonia Houdini windshirt.

Better photoWhy do you blog?

Because I read so many other blogs that are honest, informative and inspirational and would like to do my bit to contribute, from the perspective of someone new to the world of wild camping. The lure of the outdoors is only enough to get me out once or twice a month. During the rest of the time I enjoy talking and learning about gear, destinations and experiences.

What is your favorite movie, book?

Favourite film is High Fidelity. Favourite book is The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler.

What do you do for a living?

I am a museum educator

What is on your favorite coffee mug?

A split-screen VW camper

What is one of your favorite quotes?

You cannot know a mountain until you have slept on it – Hamish Brown

What is your favorite trail/backpacking recipe (in full or via link)?

It has to be spam and beans although it does nessecitate the carrying a decent amount of canned goods – not ideal when wild camping up a big hill.

I also spied this tasty looking paella whilst searching Flickr. I’m going to give it a go soon since its cool enough to carry prawns around still.

If you could invite anyone to join you for dinner — fictional or real, from the past or the present — who would you invite and why?

George Washington Sears “Nessmuk” – a true outdoorsman, he could teach everyone a lesson or two about smoothing it outdoors.
Alfred Wainwright – creator of the famous pictorial guides of the Lake District.
Miles Davis – my musical hero, and someone sure to spice up the conversation.
Dave Chappelle – a comedy legend in my book.

Outdoors chat, music and laughs. Job done.

What is your favorite blog post — from your blog?

The post that makes me smile most is the one I call Passing through the bothy. It reflects on a short, one night trip and brings back memories of good banter, getting lost, finding our way and then warming up by the fire.

Fireplace

Leave a Reply

