Quick Review: Berghaus Velum jacket

Made from Gore-Tex Active Shell, this jacket is designed for light and fast activity. Features are minimal with just two hip/chest pockets, Velcro sleeve adjustments and an adjustable, wired hood. The Velum packs to the size of a grapefruit and weighs around 340g.

The fit is athletic; the slim waist and broad shoulders of the medium size fits my average frame well. The waterproof qualities are solid and the fabric breathes well even when I’ve worn it for periods of up to five hours. I’ve experienced some ‘wetting out’ of the face fabric under my pack straps and at the wrists but thankfully I have stayed dry – I suspect the DWR just needs a top up, which is easy enough.

Overall, I’d recommend the Berghaus Velum to fellow hikers and backpackers, but maybe not for multiple days of persistent rain.

Leave a Reply

