Quick Review: Salomon Comet 3D GTX boots

These boots replace my  Merrell Moab Ventilator approach shoes that leak like a good ‘un. The uppers on the Salomon Comets are a combination of nubuck leather and fabric, bonded to deep lugged Contragrip soles. These soles offer good grip on gravel, mud and boggy ground. Size 9.5 fit well and are, mercifully, wide enough for my hobbit feet unlike footwear I’ve tried from Scarpa. One other nice feature is the locking instep hooks that stop the laces slipping from your desired tension.

If boots are leaky, loose, lacking grip or too tight they will annoy me. In four months I can safely say the only negative thing I have noticed about the Comets is their crappy, Ortholite insoles – other than that they’ve kept me safe, dry and blister free. Plus they can be had for a very reasonable price.

2 comments

  1. Cola · January 30, 2014

    Would love to know which store you managed to get them to price match against. Do you have a link that’s a great discount worth having

    • rcbprk · January 30, 2014

      It was Millet Sports if I remember rightly, but looking at their site they are back up to RRP. I find it best to look for price matches around the time of the turn of the new season (of gear releases that is).

      Keep an eye out and there are steals to be had.

Leave a Reply

